How to straighten your hair without using heat

Just stumbled across this tutorial on YouTube. If you have enough time on your hands, and hair you want to be extremely careful with then it may be useful. I found it interesting that you could do this. Makes me wonder if sitting next to a fan with rollers in would curl it for you faster without heat too, seems like it would take much less effort than straightening. Think I will attempt it when I next have my hands on a fan.

straight long hair

My hair always goes so frizzy, especially at the top even after straightening, so I think this method might aggravate that.

11 thoughts on “How to straighten your hair without using heat

  1. Kumacchi

    I am going to sound like a hater but she basically just blew out her hair on cold heat. You can do that with a round brush and your blow dryer on a cold setting. Blowing out is easier than straightening if you do it right. It lasts longer and you can add body to your hair. This woman is still stretching out her hair and it could still be damaged. Giving you hair a rest from straightening is very important.

    Reply
    1. sayumiami Post author

      I actually thought the same thing, I just think it seems a little easier as you have both hands free and I always end up hitting myself in the head with my blow dryer πŸ˜› Maybe I’m just particularly clumsy though. What do you mean by stretching out?

      Reply
      1. Kumacchi

        Never mind! I just talked to my mom who is a hairstylist and has been one for 15 years. I lied, I’m sorry the video just seemed so stupid to me. Straightening and curling my hair is fun, but I don’t see the need in straightening my hair so much it’s damaged. My mom said people have been doing this for ever and it’s an okay way to do your hair. It just seemed kind of stupid to me. I would rather invest in a great wig and then straighten my hair other times.

        Reply
  2. sayumiami Post author

    Yes I can see your point. You must be very lucky with your natural hair shape. Unfortunately my hair just goes so frizzy and massive without straightening, which makes it very difficult to style and also can look a bit insane lol πŸ˜›

    Reply
    1. Kumacchi

      I am like eighty million ethnicities so my hair is a weird texture. It’s kind of like Helena Bonham Carters o.o. What products do you use? If you don’t mind telling me. I’ll ask my Mom how to improve your hair product pallet. I’m sorry I’m a hair freak!

      Reply
      1. sayumiami Post author

        I’d say mine was similar to that too actually πŸ™‚ Haha that’s ok, me too πŸ˜› I use a purple toner as I’m now bleached blonde. And Moisture replenishing shampoos and conditioner. I use hair masks maybe once or twice a week, and I leave them in a looong time. And I also use Moroccan oil after every wash or when it looks particularly dry, and before heat styling or blow drying I also use a heat protectant spray.

        Reply
  3. Kumacchi

    Do you like Lolita Curly hair styles? You could use soft curlers and dry that in front of a fan. I’m too lazy to learn, but I’ve seen it done and it works! The soft curlers not with the use of a fan. You just do it with wet hair and then I guess you could dry it in front of a fan. Less stress than drying and the only work is putting in the curlers (which would probably take a while to learn… -_-)

    Reply
    1. sayumiami Post author

      Ooh! That sounds really pretty πŸ™‚ I think I’ll try this at some point. Nice formed curls would be really great πŸ™‚ Thank you so much ❀

      Reply
  4. Kumacchi

    And if you want it done quicker you could use the blowdryer on a cold setting which would probably give you a more sleek look (sometimes airdrying can leave slightly frizzy waves) and less heat damage. PS Going overboard on hair products is so bad for you. And I’m not saying this from what you posted before, just because some people go over board when curling. I pin curl my bangs and I looked at a million tutorials before I started and one girl actually used a product that BROKE OFF YOUR BANGS. Anyways sorry I have a complex. I act like a hair fairy. I’m done πŸ˜€

    Reply
    1. sayumiami Post author

      Haha πŸ˜› That’s fine, I love learning about new tips for hair and beauty and stuff. Especially for curling because I hardly do it so I know little of it. Wow O.o that’s so mad, why would anyone use that?! Some of these people on YouTube really need to be more careful.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

