Angelic Pretty Salopettes

Image

These slightly bizarre dress/overall/pinafore things called Salopettes have recently grown in popularity amongst the Lolita community, whilst many others debate if it is actually something that belongs in the lolita style. When I first saw them the shape put me off, but they have grown on me since seeing more people wear them in cute coordinates and now I think they are really adorable!

Image

The lolita brand Angelic Pretty have made salopettes in the same lovely prints as their lolita dresses, but the shape is different to what most people would identify as a lolita dress. Personally, I love lots of different types of fashion so I don’t really care if these are or aren’t lolita. I just love the colourful, girly prints!

Image

You would need to wear a shirt or some other kind of top underneath, just like you would with dungarees. Lots of the salopettes have shorter skirts than other Angelic Pretty dresses, which I think is good for somebody that isn’t a lolita because it’s probably closer to what they would normally wear.

Image

I just love the cute bunny hood on this one!

I think that these would fit in really well with lots of other sweeter styles, like Fairy Kei or Dolly style. Since they are a lot more open at the top it also means it should be easier to find ones that fit a larger bust, which is a problem many westerners have with buying from Japanese brands. I have also heard of replica salopettes that don’t carry the same large price tag as the brand version, though be a bit careful because the quality will be less than that of a brand.

Image

All Images are the property of Angelic Pretty

*~* What are your thoughts? Do you like Salopettes? *~*

Leave a Reply

